Scotland Crossing #2 (Day 9)

Date: July 6th

Day 9 Destination: Aberlour, the home to whisky of the same name as well as Scotland’s favourite biscuit, Walker’s Shortbread. As mentioned in the previous post, I headed to the North-East of Scotland from the South-West as the weather there had gone bad.

Day 9 Travel Map

map

Day 9 Costs: £3 (Luss-Balloch bus) + £5.80 (bus from Elgin to Aberlour) + £3 (dram of whisky near bus stop)= £11.80

Money saved by Spirit of Scotland Pass: £68 (single from Balloch to Elgin)

Lessons Learnt

  • Feed in bus directions from the start of the bus route: I missed only one public transit connection this entire trip & that was on this day at Elgin. I had the stop pinpointed on Google Maps & even reached the spot just in time but the bus stops had no signage indicating the direction of travel. I stood on the opposite side of the road like a fool while the bus drove past in front of me. I could have avoided this had I put in “Elgin bus station to Aberlour” that would have helped me gauge the correct side of the road to catch the bus from.

    20160706_180108_hdr

    Elgin bus stop :-/

Ramblings

The day started of fantastic with sunshine & a late travel start at 10 am. Used my body clock wake up time to my advantage by charging my battery pack, camera battery & laptop before I had to pack up & leave. I was accompanied by this charming family whilst minding my own business. Thankfully, they did not consider my laptop to be food.

20160706_075805_hdr

Almost no pictures for this day as it was just spent sitting on trains & buses. Strung together 2 buses & 3 trains back to back to reach my destination in 8 hours. Add in 15-20 minute walks to the campsite from the bus stop on each end with heavy luggage & you’ve got a very tiring day of travel. Here is my picture shouldering the load waiting for the bus at Luss bus stop. 😀

shoulder

That being said, I do not feel tired or uncomfortable when I’m travelling by train. Buses & long running ferries give me extreme bouts of motion sickness but trains are almost soothing for me. It was good to be back on the Glasgow-Central Aberdeen route via Stonehaven. I wholeheartedly recommend a day trip to Stonehaven from Edinburgh / Glasgow if you live in these areas, Dunnottar castle is amazing & the harbour town is very picturesque.

The long journey makes it all the more frustrating to have missed my connection to Aberlour. I thank my lucky stars for having exactly one bus left in the day to make up for the one I missed. I did what every responsible Scottish traveller should do, go to the nearest bar & have a dram of whisky.

All this was totally worth it as I had a packed day of travel in the area the next day (the next post in this series will be a long one). Also the campsite was pretty darn amazing. The featured image was taken just outside the campsite & looks a lot like the Windows XP base wallpaper. Here is my pitch after reaching the Aberlour Gardens Campsite. Special thanks to the campsite owner who chatted about nearby distilleries & her recommendations as well as extending the famous Scottish hospitality. Drank couple of soups from the vending machine to give my cold-ridden throat some respite & slept like a log.

dsc_0242

Aberlour pitch

Follow us on Social Media

Facebook  RSS

Leave a Reply

