About

Birth of the blog

Hello, we are Yoda & Dalek, two one-backpack (part-time) travelers currently living in the UK. Till date, we’ve visited 14 countries across 3 continents (checkout our travel map & wishlist at the bottom of this page). The blog was born during our year living apart to document our travels & help fellow travelers with details of sights, food & public transport. We named the blog based on the way travelling expands our perspectives (and really makes us want to travel more).

Our initial goal was to help 5 travelers in their journeys. But over the last year, we’ve been fortunate enough to reach to a lot more, both through our blog and social media. We hope our blog is helping you in your adventures, and hope to reach more fellow travelers in the coming years.

Talk to us

The best way is to message us via our Facebook page or an email to beyondourhorizons@gmail.com. We are just beginning to dip our toes into Instagram and Twitter as well. We’d love to talk to you. We’re open to doing Europe-based collabs or writeups (we’d love to work with a tourism council), drop us a line.

About Yoda

Hi there Reader, I’m Yoda, co-author of Beyond our Horizons and Dalek’s lovely wife. Well, “co-author” is probably a stretch. My contribution is limited to taking and editing photos, and sometimes penning a story. I’m an introverted, idealistic bookworm who’s occasionally funny, directionally challenged, lazy and devoid of fashion sense (honestly, you should see my purple rain jacket). I love stories in any form, be it music, books or life. I also like food and sleeping.

I grew up in India and had a typical middle class upbringing. Amongst all memories I have of my childhood and youth, the ones that stand out were made while travelling to various parts of India – going to Andaman on a ship, sunset in Thar desert, snowfall in Rohtang pass, my sibling jealously guarding a boiled egg in Kolkata. My parents love travelling, and always made sure my sibling and I were 1) eating enough gluten, dairy, fruits and nuts 2) taking as many vacations as possible 3) not dating. I owe my love of travelling/photography to my father and that of stories/food to my mother.

I fell in love with Dalek while I was still in college, married him just after I graduated and moved to the USA, where he was working at the time. After about 2 years, we moved to Scotland so I could pursue my dream of getting a Masters degree (take that, uncles + ex-bf who laughed at this dream). Shortly after this point of time, Beyond our horizons was born. You see, after my degree I was offered a dream job in England, which meant living apart. Although we visited each other every weekend, we missed all the little things we did together. So we started a blog, together. Dalek is more of a hopeless romantic, so he agreed to do the bulk of the work, and I got away with doing what I love – taking photographs and gathering experiences. We both work full time, so publishing posts on time is always a challenge; but it’s something we both love to do. Hopefully, if we document our travels well enough, we’ll have something to recall when we both are senile.

Thanks for dropping by, dear reader, and I hope you enjoy reading the blog as much as I like taking photos of sunsets, reading old books and eating aloo posto.

About Dalek

Hello reader, my pseudonym is Dalek and my day job is that of a software developer. I am a nerd who also enjoys playing racket sports. I too grew up in a middle class family in India and, unlike Yoda, didn’t really see much of India before getting a chance to study in the US, that too in the paradise of Florida.

My first real travel experience came through an internship in South Korea. The culture was so different from India & the US and I had an absolute blast spending the summer there. Earning in a strong currency too helped in being able to travel but not as much as being married to Yoda. She maybe an introvert but she’s also a free spirit, one to see all the corners of the earth if possible.

Living in Europe has afforded us the opportunity to see so many places I’ve grown up dreaming of seeing but the ultimate experience was camping in Scotland (my adopted home) for 5 weeks. The raw beauty of the country combined with the friendliness of the people make it a country to have on your travel bucketlist.

I enjoy natural beauty and traveling by train. In fact, I’m a bit of a train fanatic, I started another Instagram account today to document my train captures. I hope to be able to drive a car soon and we’ll have far more freedom in our travels. We hope you enjoy reading our blog!!

Follow us on Social Media

Facebook  RSS  RSS

Blog header created by Syamantak Gupta

8 thoughts on “About

  1. Mitul Desai says:

    Awesome blog Dasti sir… thanks for sharing all the insights about the little things that other bloggers skip over…
    Would surely recommend this blog to someone who is planning to backpack across Europe.

    Keep Drifting!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Vocal Pendulum says:

    Hi,
    I popped in here following a link from Ankita’s 22 Nelson Street. Having read every post that wonder girl has published, I think I know you two already…I was notified when you lot went camping, when you two got back to living together and when Yoda cracked funny jokes! (Well, I was notified when Ankita was showing off great people in her life through that blog and thus you were introduced to us). I am mighty glad that I stopped by for a visit. You have a lovely blog and some great posts that I look forward to binge read. Stay blessed!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • yodandalek says:

      Hey Vocal Pendulum,

      Firstly thank you for your kind words! 🙂 We too read 22 Nelson Street posts pretty much as soon as they’re published! We hope you find our blog fun too read too even though it is a very different style & content (we enjoy the semi-anonymity of our blog for now) 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

